User login



Syndicate content

2014 WEMO Conference Track Champions


High School Girls, Junior High Girls and Boys are conference champs, High School Boys take fourth

The WEMO Conference track meet was held Monday, May 5 at Adrian. The Adrian Blackhawks girls took 1st place and the boys came in 4th. One highlight of the meet was the girls 4x400 relay breaking the school record with a time of 4:13.13. 4X400m team: Brenna Adkins, Lauren Shipley, Cheyenne Smith and Jessica Willerton.

“I was really hoping for a better team performance today” commented Boys Track Coach Matt Cochran. “Overall we finished fourth. I was thinking we should be able to get third. We just didn’t all perform at our best today. That can’t happen at a conference or district meet. Unfortunately that cost us third place. I don’t think we could have beaten Midway or Osceola anyway. We have to look forward to districts now and we have to perform at our best or our season will be over. I want to say congratulations to Midway for being WEMO Conference Champs in a very close race with Osceola.”

High School Girls: Front row: Kayla Dines, Sara Geringer, Lacee Bagby and Cheyenne Smith. Back row: Bailey Reed, Lauren Shipley, Anna Walley, Kamiron Luptak, Ally Jennings and Brenna Adkins.

High School Boys: Front row: Sam Gregg, Collin Brewster, Derek Greer, John Thompson, Zak Dabney. Middle: Cody Jennings, Gabe Still, Zachary Shannon, Brett Baker, Devin Darby, Austin Corley. Back row: Connor Pruitt, Jarret Self, James Wood, Nathan Lybarger, Brohde Bennett, Adam Cochran.

Junior High Boys and Girls: The Adrian Junior high boys and girls track teams took first in the WEMO conference track meet held on Monday, May 5, 2014. Front row: Remi Pittman, Kerigan Wimsatt, Hayden Keating, Wyatt Reynolds, Brendan Shackles, Will Sears, Hunter Steen, Marcus Meade and Robert Reese. Second row: Maly Sears, Kennady Keating, Kaylee Keating, Payton Ritter, Kylee Morris, Bailey Novovesky, Elise Reynolds, Britney Arnold, Taylor Edmiston, Sami Costigan and Lybarger. Third row: Payton Inglis, Gavin Reed, Tearsten Keister, Camryn Pruitt. Back row: James Keating, Nicholas Preston, Anson Johnson, Dylan Bell, Parker Deal, Jay Freeman and Caleb Jennings.

For track results, see the May 15 issue of The Adrian Journal.


Related stories